top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

5 ways to get rid of the 40s blahs


As many of you may know, I will be turning the big 4-0 on Sunday. I haven't had a hard time with a birthday since I turned 25. I had all of these awesome dreams about owning my own home, finishing my college degree, being married and having kids. Well I turned 25 and WHOA, someone forgot to tell me life doesn't always work out the way you plan it!

I tried to be a little more realistic after that but this past week has just been plain tough! I found myself getting frustrated with everything in life. It was definitely time for a time out and a me weekend. So here it is my 5 ways to get over the birthday blahs!

1. Go shopping!

Ok I know sounds cliché, but I hadn't been clothes shopping in forever! So I treated myself to some nice new jeans and a couple of tops from Dress Barn.

Then a stop at my favorite department store to the Estee Lauder Counter! Oh My Gosh! They have new eyeliner!! For the sake of the budget I limited myself to only one and it is by far my favorite to date! Of course it is Double Wear so I don't wind up looking like a raccoon by the end of the day. I normally wear earth tones but I thought I would try the 04 Night Diamond. I LOVE IT! It gives a crazy defined but twinkle look that makes my eyes pop like crazy! Pictures will come soon.

2. Do a Pedicure!

Again for the sake of budget, I had to do it myself. I splurged a bit and bought the Amiped (review to come very soon including pictures!).

3. Get a hair cut!

I have had the same haircut for over a year now and the plan old bob was just wearing me down. I had no idea what I wanted to change I just knew I needed some life. So I headed to my stylist and told her to do what she wanted (I don't recommend this normally, but I have had the same stylist for years). She put in some great layers that were just enough to lighten up around my face and freshen up my look.

4. Put on comfy jammies!

Ok, so this one is my old standby. Anytime I feel bad I head for my jammies. Nothing more needs to be said here except for the fact that I have entirely too many pairs of pjs!

5. Get a plan!

This one has probably brought me the most peace. I stopped feeling long enough to take stock. I counted my blessings, made notes of things that I wanted to improve and put a plan into place. I am back on my diet. I have resolved to get out of the house more and I am back on my exercise plan. I also made some other changes that I won't post here. Instead I will just keep those to myself, but the important thing was that once I finally stopped freaking out and started planning I immediately felt better!

What do you do to get rid of the birthday blahs? Anything you did special that would be fun? I haven't made my plans yet.


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Google+ Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page